To Condura, It Is

To Condura or not to Condura?  That was the question that kept nagging at me a couple of weeks back.  After much soul-searching and for lack of anything better to do at 5:00 a.m. on February 6, I decided to afflict myself with the Condura Skyway Marathon fever by signing up for the 16k event.  For those of you who read my last article, I hereby confirm that, yes, I swallowed my pride.  🙂

C is for Consiglieri, it's good enough for me. 🙂

Why 16k?  Hmmm, lemme see.  Here are my top 10 answers.

  • I am not blessed with fast-twitch muscles.  Moreover, my 37  year-old knees might not appreciate being subjected to high impact forces over 3 km.  Better reserve such runs for the track.  Logic dictates that I stay away from short runs like the 3k.     
  • Spending almost a thousand bucks to run for 20 minutes didn’t seem like a good investment.  I wouldn’t even be able to partake of any of the sports drinks that would surely fill the hydration stations.  OK, I admit.  I’m such a cheapskate.  🙂  So 5k was out of the question.   
  • I want a new PR.  The Condura 10k route has to go through two steep ramps – first, the access ramp leading to the Skyway then, second, the Buendia flyover.  Not exactly a PR-friendly race route.
  • I ran out of slots for the 21k.  While special delivery slots were subsequently made available, I could not get myself to pay an extra couple of hundred bucks for something that foresight on the part of the organizers could have prevented.  Again, I’m a cheapskate.  🙂
  • Got so turned off by this comment:

Duh???

  • I sort of slacked off in my 21k training after I found out that the regular slots had been filled.  Was not too confident that I’d be able to make up for it in a short span of time.  Like I said in a previous post, nothing but a 1:45 will exorcise my 21k demons.
  • Ran out of slots for the FM
  • Wouldn’t have run the FM anyway.
  • This will be my first time to race a 16k or 10-miler.  It’s nice to try new things every now and then.
  • Since it’s my first 16k race, whatever my time will be, for sure it’s going to be a PR.  🙂

See you at the starting line.

13 Responses to “To Condura, It Is”

  1. Julius Says:

    GOOD decision. 🙂 Have a strong and safe run, man!

  2. Nike Says:

    Good for you brah. Re your fast-twitch endowment, that’s debatable.

  3. prauthner Says:

    You’re probably in the thick of it right now. Hope you’re having (a bit of) fun!

  4. prauthner Says:

    Oops, got my time zones wrong. Hope you’re having a good night’s rest. Kick some butt tomorrow!

  5. Nike Says:

    BTW, what’s so special about dolphins? I don’t get it. Why not run for urchins? You know, street urchins. 🙂

  6. facebook Says:

    i love it

Leave a Reply

