To Condura Or Not To Condura

After my failed attempt (yet again) at a sub-1:50 half-marathon at the 2nd QCIM (see previous article), I knew that my 3rd half-mary was going to be just around the corner. The 2011 Condura Skyway Marathon on February 6, 2011 seemed to be the obvious venue for my record-setting HM. For starters, the Condura Run is one of the biggest and most popular races in the country. Also, the timing was just perfect. It would afford me at least six weeks’ training to boost my chances of running a 1:45 HM (yup, I upped the ante). That Condura enlisted the services of Coach Rio for this race sealed the deal for me.

Unfortunately, due to my hectic December schedule, I wasn’t able to register for the Condura Run right away. I figured that I’d just register in the first week of January. After all, as advertised, the registration will close in the third week of January.

Much to my dismay, on January 5, Condura announced in its Facebook page that the 21k and 42k slots had been filled up. I was resigned to sitting the race out as the other race distances did not appeal to me. Then, on January 9, a ray of hope:

As can be seen from the above, the announcement was made shortly before 10 a.m. I promised myself that I wouldn’t miss the boat this time around, so at about 2:50 p.m. I was already standing by the official Condura Skyway Marathon website, with my credit card close by. I decided to check out the registration page, just in case the organizers decided to get things going early. Then, something caught my attention. I noticed that the online registration for the full marathon was already open, while the HM was not. By then, I was already in a state of panic so I went back to Condura’s Facebook page and this is what greeted me: “21k on line Reg closed. 261 slots of 21k almost wiped out. A few slots remaining in Greenbelt 3 on site registration on a first come first served basis.”

Imagine my consternation. So I let my feelings known to the administrator. After seeing the administrator’s reply, the consternation that I felt initially turned into anger and then into disbelief. After a while, I just found it hilarious. You be the judge:

The people I work with know that I have zero tolerance for idiocy. That comment totally spoiled my appetite to run for the dolphins. Maybe I’ll just mail my check to the environmental group concerned.

Having said the foregoing, I must admit that there is still a part of me that wants to run the Condura. Lately, I’ve been doing my mile and 800m intervals, as well as my tempo runs, at paces that are far better than my pre-Century Tuna Run training paces. I feel that a 5k or 10k PR is in the offing. Moreover, I scoured the 2011 race calendar and I have yet to see a race that would come close to the Condura in terms of quality, prestige and popularity. Ergo, to Condura or not to Condura. That is the question.

2 Responses to “To Condura Or Not To Condura”

  1. Julius Says:

    I say do it. A good finish will make you forget all the bull crap that went down during the registration period. Good luck!

  2. Consiglieri Says:

    Haha, point well-taken. Thanks, Julius. If I happen to be at GB 3 in the next few days I just might register.

Leave a Reply

