The Year That Was

Almost a month ago, I ran my very first half-marathon at the 2010 Adidas King of the Road.  It was a disaster of sorts as I walked a substantial portion of the last 4 kilometers.  It was the first time I ever walked in a road race.  I felt like such a disgrace.  In fact, I bowed my head down (in shame) the entire time, fearing that someone I knew would see me walking.  I finished the half-marathon in 1:58:34, almost 10 minutes off my target time.  

The 2010 KOTR was actually my anniversary race, my first ever road race being a 5k (which turned out to be 6.4k) at the 2009 edition of the KOTR.   My racing philosophy is simple – I should be able to run at 5mpk or faster before I dare move on to the next race distance.   This explains why my races are few and far between. I try to put in as much training as possible so that when I do join a race, 5mpk would be within reach.  This also explains why I was hugely disappointed with my performance at the 2010 KOTR. 

Anyway, my 2010 KOTR is already history.  Hence,  dwelling on my dismal performance would do me no good.  Instead, since the 2010 KOTR marked my first anniversary in racing, I should look back at the year that was – the ups, the downs and everything in between.  I would say that, all things considered, it’s been a good ride;  and long may it continue!  Meanwhile, here’s a collage of photomemories from my first year in racing.  See you at the 2nd QCIM half-mary.  Sub-1:50, who’s your daddy?!  🙂

One Response to “The Year That Was”

  1. prauthner Says:

    No need to lower your head in shame for walking during a road race. The point is you finished what you started. What a much better world this would be if more of us did the same. Keep on running!

Leave a Reply

