Talk is Cheap

I was roused from my blogging hibernation by a comment left by a fellow blogger on an article I wrote on July 25. That quick visit to my site made me realize that it’s been more than two months since my last post. I was trying to analyze the reason behind my prolonged silence and this is what I arrived at – talk is cheap.

My last article was about how I celebrated running at the Takbo.ph Runfest last July 25. I remember saying there that it was indeed a fine day to celebrate running as I got a better-than-expected result and gained new running friends, among others. But after the adrenaline had worn off, the competitor in me took over and all I could think of was my disappointing time for the 10k. Yes, it was a good result considering the kind of preparation I had (or, rather the lack thereof) leading to the race, but deep inside, I was kicking myself for not being able to run even a sub-50 10k.

I knew there was only one way to deal with my frustrations – get back into training. And this is what I’ve been doing for the past several weeks. I have since witnessed a significant improvement in my fitness, but I don’t want to get ahead of myself. I’ll just stick to my training plan and see how it pans out at the 2010 Adidas KOTR, which, incidentally, will mark my first year in racing. I signed up for the 21k, my first race at this distance.

Rather than broadcast my preparations and target time for this race, I have decided to invoke my right to remain silent. With aplogies to Adidas, I’ll do a Nike and JUST DO IT. Hooah!

Leave a Reply

