Time to Go to the Mattresses

For the poor souls out there who have not read or seen The Godfather (which, to date, remains the only novel I read from cover to cover), I wish to assure you that I am not about to go on hibernation or engage in any other activity that one would normally associate with mattresses (like jumping on the bed, perhaps? LOL).  To the Sicilians, going to the mattresses means going on an all-out war against a rival family. 

I want Sollozzo. If not, it's all-out war. We'll go to the mattresses. -Sonny Corleone, The Godfather, p.132

My version, however, is less melodramatic.  I am declaring an all-out war against my 10k PR, which I hope to shatter in my next race, which is the Takbo.ph Runfest on July 25. 

I realize though that bettering my PR is easier said than done, especially since I haven’t been running for the past three weeks.  My last run of significance was my 4k tempo on May 13.  If you’ve read And Now, Shin Splints, you’ll know why I decided to take a short respite from running.  

This is not to say, however, that I’ve been bumming around the past weeks.  I tried to fill in the running void by doing some swimming and biking.  Remember that old stationary bike that I asked my maid to resurrect from our store room?  It has yielded quite a number of quality cardio workouts.  Too bad its speedometer and odometer conked out during my last workout.  And oh, did i mention that I finally got myself a mountainbike?  Uhuh, I had a low-EQ moment two weeks ago that saw me bringing home a Giant Yukon Disc SE when all I meant to purchase was a pair of basketball shoes.   What?  Basketball shoes?  Yup, no typo there either.  My fraternity’s coming up with a basketball tournament in honor of one of our heroes, Den Daniel Reyes.  So there you have it: bike-swim-basketball, my cross-training plan.

    

It turned out that my cross-training worked out pretty well for me based on last night’s run.  Yes, last night I ran an easy 6k at the track totally pain-free.  You can’t imagine how happy I was after the run.  However, my euphoria was short-lived as it suddenly dawned on me that the Takbo.ph Runfest is only 8 weeks away.   I better do some serious running If I’m to break my PR.  As usual, I enlisted the help of Runner’s World SmartCoach to map out my training plan and here is what it churned out: 

Wk Dat Mon Tues Weds Thurs Fri Sat Sun Total
1 5/31
6/6
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 3 km
@5:52
Rest
/ XT
Tempo Run
Dist: 8 km, inc
Warm; 5 km @ 4:56; Cool
Easy Run
Dist: 3 km
@5:52
Rest
/ XT
Long Run
Dist: 11 km
@5:52
25 km
2 6/7
6/13
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 5 km
@5:52
Rest
/ XT
Speedwork
Dist: 8 km, inc
Warm; 3×800 in 3:34
w/400 jogs; Cool
Easy Run
Dist: 5 km
@5:52
Rest
/ XT
Long Run
Dist: 11 km
@5:52
29 km
3 6/14
6/20
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 5 km
@5:52
Rest
/ XT
Tempo Run
Dist: 8 km, inc
Warm; 5 km @ 4:56; Cool
Easy Run
Dist: 5 km
@5:52
Rest
/ XT
Long Run
Dist: 13 km
@5:52
31 km
4 6/21
6/27
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 8 km
@5:52
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 8 km
@5:52
Rest
/ XT
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 8 km
@5:52
24 km
5 6/28
7/4
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 6 km
@5:49
Rest
/ XT
Tempo Run
Dist: 10 km, inc
Warm; 6 km @ 4:56; Cool
Easy Run
Dist: 5 km
@5:49
Rest
/ XT
Long Run
Dist: 13 km
@5:49
34 km
6 7/5
7/11
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 6 km
@5:49
Rest
/ XT
Speedwork
Dist: 8 km, inc
Warm; 4×800 in 3:31
w/400 jogs; Cool
Easy Run
Dist: 6 km
@5:49
Rest
/ XT
Long Run
Dist: 14 km
@5:49
34 km
7 7/12
7/18
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 8 km
@5:49
Rest
/ XT
Tempo Run
Dist: 10 km, inc
Warm; 6 km @ 4:56; Cool
Easy Run
Dist: 6 km
@5:49
Rest
/ XT
Long Run
Dist: 14 km
@5:49
38 km
8 7/19
7/25
Rest
/ XT
Easy Run
Dist: 5 km
@5:52
Easy Run
Dist: 5 km
@5:52
Tempo Run
Dist: 8 km, inc
Warm; 5 km @ 4:56; Cool
Rest
/ XT
Rest
/ XT
Race Day
Dist: 10 K
@4:43
Time: 47:18
28 km

It’s definitely time to go to the mattresses.  Wish me luck.  I’ll need it.

6 Responses to “Time to Go to the Mattresses”

  1. Reverend Says:

    I’ll wish you luck, but not before dishing out some sage advice.

    I’d say ditch the PR……for now and simply enjoy running pain-free. The first step to setting a PR is staying healthy. Trying to hammer out a best-ever 10k in just 8 weeks (following a period of recuperation) is courting disaster.

    Good luck.

  2. Scientist Runner Says:

    Such elaborate training regimen for a 10K PR-shattering plan! Michael Corleone would be very proud! But as the Reverend says, may the Consigliere also listen to the greatest counsel of all- vestri somes (your body)! Best of luck!

  3. ylbnoel Says:

    awesome blog Consiglieri ! Breathtaking and inspiring ! May I post a link on my blogroll to yours?

Leave a Reply

