And Now, Shin Splints

I left out what I thought was a minor detail in my last post. After my tempo run, I was supposed to do another four and a half laps to complete my scheduled 7k run but I fell a lap and a half short. On my third cool-down lap, I felt some pain in my left shin and I thought it wise to just call it a day (or night for that matter). However, as I was resting in one of the benches by the track, I still felt the pain – in fact, it got worse. I was limping badly as I walked back to my car, asking myself why, of all nights, I had to use my stick shift. Oh well, I just sucked it up and scrapped my plan to run my scheduled easy 5k the following day. Fortunately, I was still able to drive home. As soon as I arrived, I googled my condition and this is what I got from an article provided by MayoClinic.com:

 The term “shin splints” refers to pain along the shinbone (tibia) — the large bone in the front of your lower leg. The pain is caused by an overload on the shinbone and the connective tissues that attach your muscles to the bone.

The risk of shin splints is no reason to give up your morning jog or afternoon aerobics class. Most cases of shin splints can be treated with rest, ice and other self-care measures — and wearing proper footwear and modifying your exercise routine can help prevent shin splints from recurring.

OK, so all I needed to do was to get some rest.  Maybe scrapping my Friday run was a good idea after all.  I would just have to make up for the lost mileage during my Sunday long run. 

However, my scheduled Sunday long run did not materialize because I was so exhausted. I was so tired that I even skipped Mass (bless me Father for I have sinned). You see, I spent practically my entire Saturday at the SM MOA Bowling Center for the finals of the 23rd Inter-Law Bowling Tournament. My confidence was running high going into the finals as my two previous practice sessions produced lines of 1226 and 1204 (for 6 games). It’s been quite a while since I averaged more than 200 for six games, so it bode well for our team. Or so I thought. Our team had an uphill battle as all our opponents for the day enjoyed a twice to beat advantage. While we were able to survive the first round, we were not so lucky on the second, losing a very close second game to the eventual champions, the RTC of Makati. Our team bagged third place.

Because of my futile efforts from Saturday, which left me spent, I decided to forego my Sunday long run and conditioned myself for an early morning Monday run. I have to admit that I had my shin injury in mind when I made this decision. I figured that an extra day’s rest would serve me well.

So, when my alarm clock went off at 5:10 a.m., I did what I would normally do – I ignored it. Good thing my alarm clock was on snooze mode so after about three cycles or so, I finally woke up at 5:25 a.m. I thought to myself, “ah, plenty of time for a 10k.” I put on my gear, drank a glass of water to replace the fluids I had just shot down the toilet, did some stretching, then ran at a leisurely pace towards my favorite route. It seemed like a bright start to my week.  After all, it has been ages since I last willed myself to wake up for an early morning run.  However, less than a kilometer into my run, I felt my left shin again.  Grrr. I contemplated my latest running setback as  I walked slowly back home.  First, my deltoid ligament injury, then my knee problems.  Now this, barely two months away from the Takbo.Ph Runfest. When it rains, it pours. Oh well, if I don’t get to race, at least I’ll get a cool singlet.

8 Responses to “And Now, Shin Splints”

  1. Reverend Says:

    Thank God for the anti-gravity treadmill. It’s about the price of a Toyota Altis.

  2. Prauthner Says:

    I used to have those (shin splints) occasionally. I’d just run through them, albeit, cutting down on mileage. Just make sure you don’t have something more sinister (like a stress fracture) lurking behind those shin splints. Don’t remember the last time I had them and I don’t remember having done any major adjustments to my running since. I do know I never consulted a sports physician…as expected.

    • Reverend Says:

      I have a memory of those in the distant past. They felt like there were several needles pricking my bone. They just came and went, and didn’t last as long as those Onitsukas did.

    • Consiglieri Says:

      If I had a stress fracture would I still be able to walk? Last Saturday, while I was playing bowling, I felt my shin again. Not that painful but noticeable enough to get me a bit worried. Should I get an x-ray or a scan?

  3. Luis Arcangel Says:

    Hope you get better soon! Hope its just a shin splint. Stress fractures could knock you out for 2 months 😦

    • Consiglieri Says:

      Hey thanks Luis! It’s really a bummer but what can I do right? Hope your ITBS issues have been resolved. Read your account of your last 10k race. Sayang, man. Anyway, it was a good performance nonetheless. Hope to see you at the Runfest.

Leave a Reply

